Queens Wood is Coming

I have long wanted to write a Robin Hood story. The bold leader of the outlaws of Sherwood Forest is one of my all-time favorite characters. He has been the star of stage and screen. Countless novels, poems, and ballads have been written about him. There are more variations on his tale than you can shake a stick at. Here are just a few of the many incarnations of the character.

TheRobins

I am going to start a project here on the website, in full view of the whole world. I’m going to write a Robin Hood story, or rather, rewrite a Robin Hood story.

In the tradition of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Little Vampire Women, Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters, and countless retellings of Romeo and Juliet; I’m going to rewrite a classic novel. In my case, that novel will be The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood by Howard Pyle.

Call it a re-imagining of the Robin Hood legend. Think of it as a mash-up of Robin Hood and my own fantasy setting, Drythlor. This shall be a remix of those marry adventures, Howard Pyle, shared with us. My vision of this story involves a dollop of fantasy, a dash of noir, and a sprinkling of magic. It will be a tale of low fantasy and dark swashbuckling. I’m calling it, Queens Wood.

I hope to put this project up one chapter at a time. A chapter each week. Wednesdays. I will create this in front of you, hopefully, with fewer blemishes and faux pas than that implies.

I will try to spare you that.

I hope that this is not a too grandiose timeline, but as I sit here and think about it, a week to rewrite a chapter in a book seems very doable. Wish me luck or damn me for my meddling, my intentions are all good. This project should allow the release of the pent up creative drive that is inside me. It will also get me back in the habit of writing daily. And I am sure I will learn many other things as I work through this project.

It all begins next Wednesday.